Provinces | Anhui Province

First Index Next 
anhui Chinese nameanhui
Main Industriesagriculture (rice, tea, timber), industry, coal
Foreign Trade12,245
Ethnic minorities0.1%
Inner Mongolia Xinjiang Heilongjiang Jilin Gansu Liaoning Ningxia Qinghai Tibet Hebei Yunnan Shandong Sichuan Guangxi Shanxi Hainan Shaanxi Guangdong Chongqing Fujian Henan Guizhou Zhejiang Hunan Jiangsu Hubei Shanghai Jiangxi Beijing Anhui Tianjin

Situated inland astride the Yangzi (Yangtse or Changjiang) River, Anhui is a rich agricultural land on the fringes of the North China plain.

At the Southern border are the famous Yellow Mountains (Huang Shan) a great attraction for the Chinese since the Tang dynasty and now is popular with foreign tourists.

Slightly further north is the sacred Buddhist mountain of Jiuhua Shan (Nine Flower Mountain) named by the Tang poet Li Bai in the poem :

Looking far ahead from Jiujiang
I saw the peaks of Jiuhua
Emerging from the Heavenly River
Like nine beautiful lotus flowers

Huangshan Sunrise
Sunrise at Huangshan

See also : Traditional artist on Huangshan Mountains
Boat at Wuhu
Bao Zheng Temple
Painting of Huangshan Mountains
Terraced fields
Gallery of Paintings of Huangshan Mountains
More about Anhui

Copyright © SACU 1965-2011. If you have any comments, updates or corrections please let us know via our Contact page.